22nd Boise Extravaganza in Set Theory, June 15-17, 2015

Boise Extravaganza in Set Theory
June 15 – 17, 2015
San Francisco State University

At present plenary speakers for BEST 2015 include:
Dr. Rodrigo Dias, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Dr. Mirna Dzamonja, East Anglia University, U.K.
Dr. Aleksandra Kwiatkowska, UCLA
Dr. Spencer Unger, UCLA
Dr. Trevor Wilson, Miami University, OH

The 22-nd annual meeting of BEST will be hosted at San Francisco State University as a symposium of the 96th annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science – Pacific Division (AAAS-PD). Contributed and invited talks at BEST will be held on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

In addition to invited speakers, the conference program has reserved speaking slots for students, post docs and pre-tenure tenure track faculty. NSF supported funding to assist up to ten student speakers, four post-doc speakers and two pre-tenure tenure track faculty speakers is available. For details on applying to the BEST program committee for these, please visit the conference website at the URL provided above. In addition, the AAAS-PD provides up to $150 in travel funding for students. Please see the BEST conference website for more details on these also. There are a number of deadlines associated with applications for a travel grant.

Special features of BEST 2015 include:

In addition to the BEST symposium there are several other symposia and workshops of interest offered at the AAAS-PD annual meeting. On Monday, June 15, the AAAS-PD organized an evening at the California Academy of Sciences on Tuesday, June 16, the AAAS-PD hosts a banquet at which awards of excellence are given to student speakers selected by a panel of judges.

Student, post-doc and pre-tenure tenure track speakers are strongly encouraged to apply to BEST for an NSF-funded travel award. The travel expenses (airfare and lodging) of awarded speakers will be reimbursed up to the maximum amount of the award, and registration fees of awardees will be reimbursed.


Monday, June 15: 8:50 a.m. – 4:20 p.m.

Morning Session Moderator: Samuel Coskey.

8:50 – 9:00 Introductory Comments

9:00 – 9:50 Mirna Dzamonja, University of East Anglia: FAC and WQO Orders and Their Cardinal Invariants

9:50 Questions/Answers/Discussion

10:00 Break

10:20 Luke Serafin, Carnegie-Mellon University: Cardinal Invariants of Generalized Continua

10:55 Ari Brodsky, Bar-Ilan University: A Microscopic Approach to Suslin Ttrees Constructions

11:30 TBA

12:00 – 2:00 LUNCH

Afternoon Session Moderator: Rodrigo Dias

2:00 Aleksandra Kwiatkowska, UCLA: The Universal Minimal Flow of the Homeomorphism Group of the Lelek Fan.

2:50 Question/Asnwers/Discussion

3:00 BREAK

3:20 Paul Ellis, Manhattanville College: The Conjugacy Problem for Automorphism Groups of Countable Homogeneous Structures.

3:55 Stuart Nygard, Boise State University: The Density Topology

Tuesday, June 16: 9:00 a.m. – 4:20 p.m.

Morning Session Moderator: Mirna Dzamonja

9:00 Trevor Wilson, UC Irvine: Covering Properties of Derived Models.

9:50 Questions/Answers/Discussions

10:00 BREAK

10:20 Miha Habic, CUNY: Joint Laver Diamonds

10:55 William Chen, UCLA: Cofinality of Products in Prikry-type Forcing.


Afternoon Session Moderator: Samuel Coskey

2:00 Rodrigo Dias, University of Sao Paolo: Productively Countably Tight Spaces and Selective Games.

2:50 Questions/Answers/Discussion

3:00 BREAK

3:20 Steven Clontz, Auburn University: Applications of Almost Compatible Functions for Limited Information Strategies in Infinite Length Games

3:55 Liljana Babinkostova, Boise State University: The Selective Strong Screenability Game.

Division Reception, Banquet and Student Awards: 6:00 p.m. –

Location: The Seven Hills on SFSU campus

Wednesday, June 17: 9:00 a.m. – 11:20 p.m.

Morning Session Moderator: Liljana Babinkostova

9:00 Spencer Unger, UCLA: Baire Measurable Paradoxical Decompositions via Matchings

9:50 Questions/Answers/Discussions

10:00 BREAK

10:20 Diana Ojeda-Aristizabal, University of Toronto: Finite Forms of Gowers’ FINk Theorem

10:55 Timothy Trujillo, Texas State University: Products of Topological Ramsey Spaces

11:25 Closing.

BEST seeks to promote student participation in the conference via short (20 minute) presentations. To this end there are ten (10) NSF funded BEST travel awards available for students. To apply for one of these awards, please follow the instructions given at the BEST website.

In addition to the BEST travel awards, up to 20 travel awards of up to $150 each are also available from the AAAS-PD to help students (including students participating in BEST) defray travel expenses to participate in the AAAS-PD annual meeting. Winners of these AAAS-PD travel awards will be announced at the AAAS-PD student award banquet. Student participants will be guests at this banquet.

BEST also seeks to be a forum for early career set theoretic scholars. In particular there are NSF funded BEST travel awards available for post-docs, and for pre-tenure tenure track faculty. To apply for one of these awards, please follow the instructions given at the BEST website.


The BEST schedule will also have a number of slots for 25 minute contributed talks. Anyone wishing to speak at BEST 2015 should submit an abstract as soon as possible (preferably prior to April 05) at the abstract submission site. It is strongly recommended to also contact one of the organizers as soon as possible to indicate interest/intention in presenting a talk at BEST 2015.

Important deadlines:

DEADLINE 1: REGISTRATION: Please consult http://diamond.boisestate.edu/~best/ for registration costs and deadlines. Registration fees depend on date of registration. We kindly request that Ph.D. mathematicians planning to participate in BEST 2015 consider acting as judges for the student presentations. The registration form has a place where willingness to act as a judge can be indicated.

There are also a number of excursions available that can be indicated on the registration form. Also consider attending the awards banquet in support of our student speakers – meal choices are available on the registration form.

DEADLINE 2: ABSTRACTS: Atlas Conferences, Inc. is providing abstract services for BEST 2015. Abstracts submitted by April 1 will appear in the proceedings of the annual conference of the AAAS-PD. The url for the abstract submission is available at the BEST 2015 website.

DEADLINE 3: TRAVEL GRANTS: Presenting students, post-docs or pre-tenure tenure track faculty, please complete the application process to BEST by May 15. See the BEST 2015 website for details. Students, the deadline for the AAAS-PD student travel grants is May 1, 5:00 p.m. Pacific time.

Organizers: Liljana Babinkostova, Andres E. Caicedo, Samuel Coskey and Marion Scheepers.

For any questions, please contact an organizer or e-mail best@math.boisestate.edu


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.