Archives of: Logic Seminar in Turin

Descriptive Set Theory in Turin, September 6-8 , 2017

Descriptive Set Theory in Turin

Date and place: September 6th to 8th, 2017 – Torino (Italy)


Alessandro Andretta, Gianluca Basso, Riccardo Camerlo, Vassilis Gregoriades, Luca Motto Ros and Matteo Viale

Location:Department of Mathematics “Giuseppe Peano“,
Palazzo Campana, via Carlo Alberto 10, Torino.

All talks will take place in Aula A, ground floor. To reach Aula A, enter the building, turn right in the first corridor, at the end which you will turn left. At the end of this corridor turn left again and exit in the courtyard. In front of you is Aula A.

Useful information


Day 1 – Wednesday, September 6

09:00 – Registration
09:30 to 10:20 – Gabriel Debs
10:30 to 11:00 – Coffee Break
11:00 to 11:25 – Dominique Lecomte
11:30 to 11:55 – Miroslav Zeleny
12:00 to 13:30 – Lunch
13:30 – 14:30 Discussion Session: Contributions by Silvia Steila, Yann Pequignot, Itaï Ben Yacoov, and Jean Saint-Raymond.
14:30 to 14:55 – Sy-David Friedman
15:00 to 15:50 – Forte Shinko
16:00 to 16:30 – Coffee Break
16:30 to 16:55 – Maciej Malicki
17:00 to 17:25 – Philipp Schlicht

Day 2 – Thursday, September 7

09:00 to 09:50 – Julien Melleray
10:00 to 10:25 – Mirna Dzamonja
10:30 to 11:00 – Coffee Break
11:00 to 11:25 – Donát Nagy
11:30 to 11:55 – Márk Poór
12:00 to 13:30 – Lunch
13:30 – 14:30 Discussion Session: Contributions by Dorottya Sziraki, Riccardo Camerlo, Louis Vuilleumier, and Petr Holicky.
14:30 to 14:55 – Jacques Duparc
15:00 to 15:25 – Vladimir Kanovei
15:30 to 15:55 – Pandelis Dodos
16:00 to 16:30 – Coffee Break
16:30 to 16:55 – Raphael Carroy
17:00 to 17:25 – Lionel Nguyen Van Thé
Social Dinner at Ristorante Quadre (map)

Day 3 – Friday, September 8

09:00 to 09:50 – Stephen Jackson
10:00 to 10:25 – Michal Doucha
10:30 to 11:00 – Coffee Break
11:00 to 11:25 – Vojta Kovarik
11:30 to 11:55 – Filippo Calderoni
12:00 to 13:30 – Lunch
13:30 – 14:30 Discussion Session: Contributions by Filippo Cavallari, Vibeke Quorning, Giorgio Laguzzi, and Andrea Vaccaro.
14:30 to 14:55 – Asger Tornquist
15:00 to 15:25 – David Schrittesser
16:00 – Coffee and farewell

Registered Participants

  1. Alessandro Andretta, Università di Torino.
  2. Gianluca Basso, Université de Lausanne and Università di Torino.
  3. Itaï Ben Yaacov, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1.
  4. Filippo Calderoni, Università di Torino.
  5. Riccardo Camerlo, Polytechnic of Turin.
  6. Raphael Carroy, Kurt Gödel Research Center.
  7. Filippo Cavallari, University of Turin, University of Lausanne.
  8. Gabriel Debs, Institut Mathématique de Jussieu.
  9. Pandelis Dodos, Department of Mathematics, University of Athens.
  10. Michal Doucha, Institute of Mathematics, Czech Academy of Sciences.
  11. Jacques Duparc, University of Lausanne.
  12. Mirna Dzamonja, University of East Anglia.
  13. Sy-David Friedman, Kurt Gödel Research Center, U.Vienna.
  14. Vassilios Gregoriades, University of Turin.
  15. Petr Holicky, Charles University, Prague.
  16. Stephen Jackson, University of North Texas.
  17. Vladimir Kanovei, Institute for the Information Transmission Problems.
  18. Vojta Kovarik, Charles University, Prague.
  19. Giorgio Laguzzi, University of Freiburg.
  20. Dominique Lecomte, Université Pierre et Marie Curie.
  21. Maciej Malicki, Warsaw School of Economics.
  22. Julien Melleray, Université Lyon 1.
  23. Luca Motto Ros, University of Turin.
  24. Donát Nagy, Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest.
  25. Lionel Nguyen Van Thé, Aix-Marseille University.
  26. Yann Pequignot, University of California, Los Angeles.
  27. Márk Poór, Eötvös University, Budapest.
  28. Vibeke Quorning, University of Copenhagen.
  29. Jean Saint Raymond, Université Pierre et Marie Curie – Paris 6.
  30. Philipp Schlicht, University of Bonn.
  31. David Schrittesser, Kurt Gödel Research Center.
  32. Forte Shinko, McGill University.
  33. Silvia Steila, University of Bern.
  34. Dorottya Sziraki, Alfred Renyi Institute of Mathematics, and Central European University.
  35. Asger Tornquist, University of Copenhagen.
  36. Andrea Vaccaro, Università di Pisa – York University.
  37. Matteo Viale, Università di Torino.
  38. Louis Vuilleumier, Université de Lausanne.
  39. Domenico Zambella, Università di Torino.
  40. Miroslav Zeleny, Faculty of mathematics and physics, Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic.


The workshop is generously funded by

– The Department of mathematics “Giuseppe Peano”

– Programma Giovani Ricercatori “Rita Levi Montalcini”, “Nuovi sviluppi in teoria descrittiva degli insiemi”, (PI:Luca Motto Ros)

– PRIN 2012 “Modelli e insiemi” (PI: Carlo Toffalori)

Yann Pequignot: Sigma^1_2 sets and countable Borel chromatic numbers

Friday, July 21th, 2017, 10.00-12.00

Aula S, Palazzo Campana, Università di Torino

Speaker: Yann Pequignot (University of California, Los Angeles)

Title: Sigma^1_2 sets and countable Borel chromatic numbers


Analytic sets enjoy a classical representation theorem based on wellfounded relations. I will explain a similar representation theorem for Sigma^1_2 sets due to Marcone. This can be used to answer negatively the primary outstanding question from (Kechris, Solecki and Todorcevic; 1999): the shift graph is not minimal among the graphs of Borel functions which have infinite Borel chromatic number.

Dima Sinapova: Iterating Prikry Forcing

Monday, June 26th, 2017, 10.30-12.00

Aula Lagrange, Palazzo Campana, Università di Torino

Speaker: Dima Sinapova (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Title: Iterating Prikry Forcing


We will present an abstract approach of iterating Prikry type forcing. Then we will use it to show that it is consistent to have finite simultaneous stationary reflection at $\kappa^+$ with not SCH at $\kappa$. This extends a result of Assaf Sharon. Finally we will discuss how we can bring the construction down to $\aleph_{\omega}$. This is joint work with Assaf Rinot.