This Week in Logic at CUNY

This Week in Logic at CUNY:

– – – – Monday, Sep 26, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 – – – –

Computational Logic Seminar
Room 3309, 2:00 – 4:00 PM,
September 27, 2011
Speaker: Arnon Avron (Tel Aviv University)
Title: Non-deterministic Matrices and Modular Semantics of Rules

Abstract: We show how one can provide in a lot of cases simple modular semantics for rules of inference, so that the semantics of a system is obtained by joining the semantics of its rules in the most
straightforward way. Our main tool for this task is the use of finite non-deterministic matrices, which are multi-valued structures in which the value assigned by a valuation to a complex formula can be chosen non-deterministically out of a certain nonempty set of options.

– – – – Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Thursday, Sep 29, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Friday, Sep 30, 2011 – – – –

Set Theory Seminar
** Please note that this talk is at a different time than the normal 10AM. ** Friday, September 30, 2011 12:00 pm GC 6417
Dr. Katie Thompson (Vienna University of Technology)
The embedding quasi-order for structures without universal models

Abstract. The usual notions of bounding and dominating numbers for functions from kappa to kappa with the almost domination partial ordering can be extended to give information about structures under the embedding quasi-order. In joint work with Philipp Schlicht, we show when and how such bounding and dominating numbers can be controlled.

Next Week in Logic at CUNY:

– – – – Monday, Oct 3, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Tuesday, Oct 4, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Wednesday, Oct 5, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Thursday, Oct 6, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Friday, Oct 7, 2011 – – – –

– – – – Other Logic News – – – –

– – – – Web Site – – – –

The majority of this information, including an interactive calendar of future events, can be found at our website:

http://nylogic.org/Calendar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.